Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

Japan's Prefectures

Japan is divided into 11 regions. These regions are further divided into 47 prefectures. Our list starts from the most northern part of Japan (Hokkaido) and ends with the most southern (Okinawa).
Please give the Flash time to load -- Click on any prefecture to hear the Prefecture and Capital City -- Lessons and quizzes below

Take a 'Where's that prefecture quiz'
Part 1! || Charts for quiz
Part 2 || Charts for quiz
Part 3 || Charts for quiz

About the Prefectures:
Japan is divided into a total of 47 parts. However, they are not all called ken (prefecture). Of the 47, 43 are called "ken" -- (prefecture). 2 are called 'fu' (Osaka & Kyoto). 1 is called "do" (Hokkai DO). 1 is called 'to' (Tokyo to)

Download the Prefecture map as a PDF

To remember it Japanese children learn the following poem:

itto, ichi dou | ni fu | yonjuu san ken
one "to," one "do" | 2 "fu" | 43 "ken"

Support those who Support TJP!

Click here to learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com