Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - entertainmt VS finance industry

entertainmt VS finance industry

Post questions and answers about living or visiting Japan or the culture

entertainmt VS finance industry

Postby suhui » Sat 10.24.2009 5:14 pm

こんにちは みんなさん。。お久しぶり!

And so I have been missing in action from this forum for more than 2 years, now I'm thinking of recapping or relearn my Japanese and well go to Japan to work in a year or 2.

May I ask if it's practical for a 外国人 (with an asian chinese look) from a finance industry to switch over to the entertainment line? I've a few years experience in the finance line (先物ブローカー会社?) but I want a change in my career. No vying to be a celebrity definitely but I wouldn't mind start working low as an assistant or helper in production or something so long it pays my living expenses there. Do they look into the degree you've got/ ur past experience/ and how old you are? Or perhaps it'll be wiser that I continue in the finance line given that I have started working for quite some time?

I'm turning 23 in 2 years time though and billingual (English and Mandarin). Worst to put off? I'm a girl.
Spoof!
suhui

Re: entertainmt VS finance industry

Postby NileCat » Sat 10.24.2009 6:03 pm

As a person who is in the industry, could I give you a word of advice?
It doesn't matter if you are a foreigner or Japanese. But it's like...the same as you get a job in Hollywood. The choice is yours. You are still young. It might be possible, it might be impossible. Who knows? But it's sure that you can't expect to earn a living for the time being. Only few people who can survive with eating their dreams can get by in this field.
If you choose to tread the extremely thorny path, I'd say only, "good luck!"
NileCat

Native language: Japanese

Postby spin13 » Mon 10.26.2009 2:46 am

In all seriousness, how cute are you?
You're probably not as smart as you think.
Unskilled and Unaware
spin13

Native language: English