Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - How do I go about getting to Japan?

How do I go about getting to Japan?

Post questions and answers about living or visiting Japan or the culture

Postby bloodmoon0011 » Mon 12.11.2006 4:47 pm

Well, here's my situation. I'm in college right now, and this is my first semester ever. I'm 18 and will be 19 in February. Right now, I'm studying Japanese on my own, and it's going well so far. I'm a fluent English speaker and the University does not offer so much as a single course in Japanese language. I want to be an English as a second language teacher in Japan, or some kind of translator. My question is: Where do I go? Who do I talk to? What do I need to go there? Please help me, I'm very confused.

Thanks.
bloodmoon0011

RE: How do I go about getting to Japan?

Postby prep_girl_Nessa » Mon 12.11.2006 5:08 pm

Wow, that's kind of creepy, me and you are like the same person... same birth month and everything o.O

Um... there's the JET program, where you can be an English teacher in Japan for a few years. You have to have a degree in something, though (I don't think it has to be anything to do with Japanese or teaching, just any degree). And I think you don't really have to speak Japanese too well for that. I'm not really sure about the exact requirements and stuff, I was thinking about doing that for a few years before going to graduate school, but that's after I graduate from Undergrad. stuff, so it's a while off.
Last edited by prep_girl_Nessa on Mon 12.11.2006 5:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- Harumi Nessa - 熱砂 春美(Just kidding ^_^'')
'Do you know what it feels like, loving someone who's in a rush to throw you away?
Do you know what it feels like, to be the last one to know the lock on the door has changed?
' - Enrique Iglesias <3
prep_girl_Nessa

Postby keatonatron » Mon 12.11.2006 10:24 pm