Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - "Salary" Japan Programmer

"Salary" Japan Programmer

Post questions and answers about living or visiting Japan or the culture

"Salary" Japan Programmer

Postby KINGZ » Mon 12.18.2006 4:22 pm

Hi everyone, Sry I’ve been "AFK" for a few months now, due to I’ve been working my tail off.

I found this page to be interesting inregards to video game programmers salary. difference between US/JP/UK. http://japanmanship.blogspot.com/2006/12/salary-overview-2006.html
For all those out there looking for programming jobs and design jobs in Japan. Ouch I feel sorry for you. Good luck.
Last edited by KINGZ on Mon 12.18.2006 4:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
KINGZ

RE: "Salary" Japan Programmer

Postby Txkun » Mon 12.18.2006 6:07 pm

I'm really amazed by that statistics.
I'm a game programmer since 5 years now. Working on special effects, 3d engines, gameplay, tools. I'm not senior nor junior and for me $73000.00 at year it would be a dream come true. My pay is good compared to a lot of people here and I get much less than half of that salary. Salaries here (Italy) I think are like the japanese ones and what I think really is that they are the 'right average' ones. I can understand a Sweeny or a Carmack getting $8000 at month but the average programmer can't earn so much. If yes, well don't move... stay in USA! :D
Txkun

Native language: Italian

RE: questioning

Postby KINGZ » Mon 12.18.2006 7:49 pm

I find the US salary questionable, I know a few programmer out there, and it seems the average salary here in the US seems to be between 32k to 55k with verrrrrrrry few making it to the 70k+ range. now if they are living on the West Coast I would think about 10k more.

I wonder what I could make as a mechanical Designer / Engineer in Japan..... Na I just rather not know. lol lol :o
KINGZ

Postby Tesu » Mon 12.18.2006 8:57 pm