Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - what JLPT level do you have to pass to go to school in Japan

what JLPT level do you have to pass to go to school in Japan

Post questions and answers about living or visiting Japan or the culture

what JLPT level do you have to pass to go to school in Japan

Postby GyakuGirePanda » Tue 01.02.2007 6:33 pm

Just like the title says.

Is there any specific level that American(or any other international) students have to pass in order to attend school in Japan?

If so, which level?
GyakuGirePanda

RE: what JLPT level do you have to pass to go to school in J

Postby richvh » Tue 01.02.2007 7:04 pm

From what I've read, to matriculate to a Japanese college, you need to pass the equivalent to the JLPT1. To attend as an exchange student, I don't think there is a requirement.
Richard VanHouten
ゆきの物語
richvh

Postby Mike Cash » Tue 01.02.2007 8:22 pm

The sensible thing to do would be to search for admissions information for the school you're interested in.
Never underestimate my capacity for pettiness.
Mike Cash

Native language: English

Postby GyakuGirePanda » Tue 01.02.2007 9:16 pm

Thank you Rich-san.

Mike Cash wrote:
The sensible thing to do would be to search for admissions information for the school you're interested in.

Do YOU even know the answer?
If not, why bother responding to the post?

But if you do know the answer, why not post it?
Instead of telling me what's sensible(in your opinion).
GyakuGirePanda

Postby keatonatron » Tue 01.02.2007 9:30 pm

GyakuGirePanda wrote:

Because it is the most sensible answer, and the best advice. If I asked you "What SAT score do I need to attend school in the US?" what would you say??

Some schools require a 1400, some require a 1000, some don't require it at all. So if you said "you don't need the SAT to attend a school in the US" and then when I applied the school said I needed a score of 1000 or more and since I didn't take it I can't get in, I'd be royally pissed.