Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - How has Japanese aided you in your profession

How has Japanese aided you in your profession

Post questions and answers about living or visiting Japan or the culture

How has Japanese aided you in your profession

Postby BrianM » Tue 03.06.2007 10:18 pm

i just want to know how japanese has helped u guys in your profesions. I guess this is mainly a question for those who moved to japan and have remained there for many years.
BrianM

Native language: English/Portuguese

RE: How has Japanese aided you in your profession

Postby AussieB » Tue 03.06.2007 11:26 pm

Well I only lived there for 9 months, but with some further study when I got back home I am now an Interpreter/ Translator.

The work culture in Japan is very different so I much prefer working here but still being able to use my Japanese skills.
AussieB

Postby Harisenbon » Thu 03.08.2007 4:33 am

Umm.. without Japanese I would not be able to communicate with co-workers, clients, customers and suppliers. I would not be able to get drunk like a fish with customers after work, thus bringing about "nomunication" and increasing my ability to serve my company.

In my personal life, I would not be able to order a beer, talk to my wife, or yell at the kids to get off my damn lawn.

Were you looking for something a little more specific? :D
Want to learn Japanese the right way? How about for free?
Ippatsu // Japanesetesting.com
Harisenbon

Native language: (poor) English

Postby keatonatron » Thu 03.08.2007 5:17 am

Well, other than the English teachers, I'm pretty sure everyone who lives in Japan requires Japanese for their jobs. Asking how it has helped them professionally seems like a silly question. (When you got your first job, Brian M, how did your English skills aid you?)

My Japanese will become essential next month when I start attending an all-Japanese school where not one person speaks English.
keatonatron

Native language: English