Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Short term exchange - Tokyo

Short term exchange - Tokyo

Post questions and answers about living or visiting Japan or the culture

Short term exchange - Tokyo

Postby CometBelle » Sun 06.24.2007 3:06 pm

I'm 14 years old, and I've been interested in Japan since I was probably..10 or 11. Six months ago I decided to try to learn the language. I'm still a beginner at the language..I know a few things about it, and I'm working very hard at studying.

I recently found a program that would allow me to stay in Tokyo with a local family for 2 to 12 weeks. I would attend classes to learn more about the language and culture, but wouldn't be taking regular high school classes. I told my parents about the program, and had to beg them just to consider it. They know that this is something I really want to do, and I'm sure they know that I could do it. My mom is hitting me with a lot of rude comments about Japan, as if to make me change my mind about going. She's saying people in foreign countries HATE Americans, which I know is not the truth. She's also saying she would like me to be fluent in the language before going, even though I'd be going to improve my language and social skills.

Also, I'd really like to go either late this year, or early next year, and my parents say it takes months to get a passport. How long does it take to get a passport? And the program would cost thousands of dollars, apparently something my family doesn't have, though I know we could afford it; since I'm still trying to convince my parents to let me go, I'm thinking that paying for some of it myself would really help convince them. Where am I, a 14 year old, going to get thousands of dollars when no place around here would hire someone my age?

Another thing, if anyone has any ideas on how to convince my parents to let me go..all suggestions are helpful! Thanks.
CometBelle

RE: Short term exchange - Tokyo