Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - How about studying Japanese in Japan if i've never ever lear

How about studying Japanese in Japan if i've never ever lear

Post questions and answers about living or visiting Japan or the culture

How about studying Japanese in Japan if i've never ever lear

Postby meoxu » Sat 08.11.2007 10:39 am

I'm gonna go to Japan in the early Sep. I get quite confused cuz i just can speak English. Being an exchange student, i really afraid that i can fall into difficult situation in Japan as: get lost in the streets, can not buy anything 'cuz it's all in Japanese. And how can i get to my uni from Narita airport?
Anyone please help me! Can anyone teach me some experiences for living in Japan?
However u hug ur money, it never hugs u back.
meoxu

RE: How about studying Japanese in Japan if i've never ever

Postby Yudan Taiteki » Sat 08.11.2007 11:37 am

Doesn't your program give you some sort of help?
-Chris Kern
Yudan Taiteki

Native language: English

Postby stevie » Sat 08.11.2007 3:30 pm

Well, with a little study you can learn some rudimentaries that make it quite easy to get around. As for buying stuff, if it's day-to-day stuff you can use your eyes. In terms of food, if you have allergies and need to check ingredients this could be a problem (do some research if this is the case, I guess), but otherwise I'd say it doesn't really matter if you can read the labels or not because if you can't recognise what it is you're buying, then you sure as hell can't guess what it'll taste like (but in my experience, it usually tastes good).

If you're studying in Tokyo you don't really need to worry about getting lost any more than you do in any huge city, most of the things are signed in English as well as Japanese. Get a map - it'll help more than you think, if you're exploring the city. Figuring out the Tokyo subway system might be a bit daunting but no-one I know had any trouble with it really.