Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Apartments in Japan

Apartments in Japan

Post questions and answers about living or visiting Japan or the culture

Apartments in Japan

Postby Akutabai_Gamma » Wed 07.13.2005 4:27 pm

I was wondering just how hard is it to get an aparment in Japan? I've heard that landlords really do not like to rent out to gaijins because of, "rasical" reasons and also because of discrimnation and one of the reasons for this is because they don't like to deal with ppl who don't know Japanese or they think they might not be able to understand the rules as well. So can anyone please shed some light on this and maybe offer some advise for moving AND finding an apartment in Japan?
Akutabai_Gamma

RE: Apartments in Japan

Postby Mukade » Thu 07.14.2005 10:50 pm

I've personally never had any problems in renting an apartment, although I've had some friends who experienced this sort of discrimination. The most common reason given by landlords for their refusal to offer a place to foreigners is that they don't know of any legal recourse should the person trash the apartment and then suddenly decide to up and leave Japan for their home country. Seen from this light, it would be understandable; how would the landlords go about getting the damages paid for?

In reality, though, deposits are so high (usually around $4,000-$6,000, with only about $500 coming back to you when you move out), that this really shouldn't be a worry. I don't know about you, but I think I'd have to try pretty damn hard to inflict $6,000 worth of damage to an apartment.

So, I think the real reason isn't financial, as is often claimed, but indeed racial. There are plenty of xenophobic Japanese. There are also plenty of Japanese who, although not necessarily racist, are just not very willing to deal with foreigners (mostly due to a sort of inferiority complex - but that's another story).