Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Just wondering if you guys ran into simillar problems....

Just wondering if you guys ran into simillar problems....

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

Just wondering if you guys ran into simillar problems....

Postby makisushi » Sat 07.12.2008 4:26 pm

I am a beginner and I mostly do self study now (going through JFBP,Pimsleur and I grabbed Genki books recently) and i have this problem that makes me really disappointed in my knowledge and intelect,when i try to say something i know to my Japanese friends i just mess up everything i will use tabemasu for drinking nomimasu,mix up trivial things which i KNOW and then after uttering them realizing what i said.... will read hiragana and katakana wrong although i can write them all up from my mind and when reading from the book will get all of them right.................did you guys have problems using things you have learned in the beginning or is it just a problem with me?
makisushi

Re: Just wondering if you guys ran into simillar problems....

Postby Yudan Taiteki » Sat 07.12.2008 4:32 pm

Two things:
1. You can't learn without making mistakes.
2. If you haven't practiced speaking, you won't be able to speak well until you do practice speaking.

So your experiences are perfectly normal, it's all part of the learning process. It's not always smooth, unfortunately.
-Chris Kern
Yudan Taiteki

Native language: English

Postby becki_kanou » Sat 07.12.2008 10:05 pm

What Yudan said.

It's completely natural to make mistakes when you're starting out, and no one expects you to speak perfect Japanese from the get-go. Don't worry about making mistakes, and definitely don't let a fear of making mistakes turn into a fear of speaking.