Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - A Reference Grammar of Japanese

A Reference Grammar of Japanese

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

A Reference Grammar of Japanese

Postby Miaow » Tue 08.19.2008 11:58 pm

Just curious if anyone is familiar with this book, and/or uses this book to supplement a traditional textbook. I'm wondering if it would be useful to look up a grammar point I am studying for more in-depth discussion about it.

It's cool it's a hardcover. My most-used Japanese books (Japanese: The Spoken Language, Japanese for Everyone, and Reading Japanese) are very used-looking.
= ^. .^ =
~Miaow~
にゃあにゃあ
Miaow

Re: A Reference Grammar of Japanese

Postby Yudan Taiteki » Wed 08.20.2008 8:25 am

It's a very dense, high-level linguistics book. You could certainly learn a lot from it, but it's not really intended for learning Japanese.
-Chris Kern
Yudan Taiteki

Native language: English

Postby Miaow » Wed 08.20.2008 1:19 pm

I was going to use it as a supplement to Japanese for Everyone, which explains the "how" but not the "why" of grammar. And linguistics are interesting to me, but I don't have a degree in linguistics - does this book use a lot of technical jargon that only linguists would be able to understand? Or can I look up whatever grammar point I'm studying in JfE for a full description of the "why" a given construction is the way it is?
= ^. .^ =
~Miaow~
にゃあにゃあ
Miaow

Postby Yudan Taiteki » Wed 08.20.2008 1:47 pm

Personally I think Japanese: The Spoken Language is pretty good for that.

Do you have a library you could look at the book in first (or a nearby university library)? It's dense, but not impossible.
-Chris Kern
Yudan Taiteki

Postby Miaow » Wed 08.20.2008 3:11 pm

Yudan Taiteki wrote:Personally I think Japanese: The Spoken Language is pretty good for that.