Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Opinions Needed: Language Learning Resource (BSc project)

Opinions Needed: Language Learning Resource (BSc project)

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

Opinions Needed: Language Learning Resource (BSc project)

Postby kayuu » Tue 09.23.2008 7:12 am

Hi, a little introduction before I start asking for your opinions.

I'm a student studying computer science at King's College London. As you may be able to tell, I also like learning foreign languages. Thus, I have a deep interest in computational linguistics/natural language processing - a combination of my two loves.

I'm in my final year and I have to do an individual project with a chosen supervisor (I'm going to try and tag along with our resident computational linguist) and so here I am doing a little 'market research' before I go and present my ideas to my lecturer so it would be a great help if you could respond.

I would like to try and create a (very simple, since it'll be individual work) 'intelligent' language learning resource/'tutor' - probably for English speakers wanting to learn Japanese. This project has to include some kind of natural language processing - for example, a method of taking and parsing input and producing a relevant output (for example to translate and/or create simple sentences in Japanese/English) and possibly some reasoning ability (to adapt to the users style of learning).

I would like to know what kind of context I could apply this processing to (which would you find most useful?) and what problems you have experienced when trying to learn Japanese, and what features you would've liked to have seen in the language learning resources you have used so far - and also, what features of the resources you've used did you particularly like.