Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Frustrated by a long-term plateau

Frustrated by a long-term plateau

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

Frustrated by a long-term plateau

Postby Fillanzea » Sun 09.20.2009 11:52 pm

It has been about ten years since I started studying Japanese.

I passed 1kyu of the JLPT in 2007, and I'm at a level where I can read a lot of contemporary novels (Murakami Haruki, Yoshimoto Banana, light novels, etc.) even if I don't understand every word, and I've read some slightly older literature (Soseki, Tanizaki) with lots of dictionary lookup. My listening comprehension is not quite so good, but I can manage in conversation, and I don't intend to move to Japan any time soon so I don't mind letting that go.

I'm just frustrated because I feel like I've been right around this level for the last four or five years. I had my last formal class in Japanese in 2004, when I was in college, and I've been on my own since then. I feel like I'll learn things and then forget them, or I'll get up the enthusiasm for reading for a few days and then move on to something else. I hate all the partially read books on my bookshelf, and I'm never sure if I should go in for more systematic kanji and vocabulary study, or more intensive low-level reading to soak up a ton of vocabulary in context, or more intensive high-level reading to challenge myself, or something else entirely. I don't want to still be here in another five years--so what should I do?
Fillanzea

Re: Frustrated by a long-term plateau

Postby nukemarine » Mon 09.21.2009 2:36 am

You're beyond my level, so I can only offer vague suggestions that work in all walks of life:

1. Utilize a Spaced Repetition Software like Anki to reduce what you forget
2. Post milestones you achieve (books read, 500 new words learned, pages written).