Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Basic Reading Material and Vocabulary

Basic Reading Material and Vocabulary

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

Basic Reading Material and Vocabulary

Postby xhilononi234 » Fri 12.04.2009 2:34 am

Does anyone know of any good (free) online sources to read Japanese stories online besides TJP? I have a pretty small vocabulary and lists don't really work well for me when I'm studying on my own (I'm in a 101 class right now and already know pretty much everything because the vocabulary is mostly thematic and I use it a lot in class so it stays in my head. Also, the fact that I studied through a 101-level book on my own didn't hurt.).

Most of the new words I come across are from songs, which aren't really accessible, at least legally, to people in America. Also, the best way to memorize words for me is to remember a context they're in for example, in 井上ジョーの(Joe Inoue's) CLOSER, I remembered 最近, 体験, 一体, and 恵む because the verse 「あなたが最近体験した幸せは一体何ですか。恵まれ過ぎていて思い出せないかも。」. Normally I'll only remember a part of a line and maybe one or two words. I remembered so many from this because I just had some of the kanji sent to be in the JTP kanji mailing list.

But I digress, sometimes, when all else fails, I will try and find lists, but most of them are very basic vocabulary that I already know. Does anyone know sites for good vocabulary lists that goes beyond basic expressions, house and restaurant words, etc.?

Thank you!
xhilononi234

Re: Basic Reading Material and Vocabulary

Postby wccrawford » Fri 12.04.2009 7:31 am

You mentioned learning from music. Have you seen jpopasia.com? It has music videos and people post the lyrics in romaji, kanji, and the translation in English.
wccrawford

Postby Darkseed74 » Fri 12.04.2009 10:49 am