Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Dictionary of basic/intermediate/advanced grammar

Dictionary of basic/intermediate/advanced grammar

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

Dictionary of basic/intermediate/advanced grammar

Postby ZetaFox » Mon 09.20.2010 10:20 pm

Apologize sincerely if a topic like this has been posted already (haven't had any luck with search). I have been looking to invest some cash into books. Not necessarily textbooks (well, not excluding textbooks either). The problem is that I really have a limited budget for studies outside my classwork, and I do not want to waste it on complete beginners materials with the expected 'john doe goes to school' sentences.

Getting to topic, has anyone used these books (see thread title)? What are your thoughts? Their use of kanji? Rather than get some book for complete beginners and only having a small amount of new material to me (or something that is over my head), I have opted for some form of reference which is somewhat comprehensive. If anyone has any input on these books, please let me know.
ZetaFox

Native language: English

Re: Dictionary of basic/intermediate/advanced grammar

Postby chikara » Mon 09.20.2010 10:44 pm

I have A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar and I find it quite a useful resource. I wouldn't say it is for complete beginners but there is no reason why a complete beginner wouldn't be able to get some use from it.

It gives its example sentences in kanji and kana with romaji below. For example;

村井さんは昼ご飯をたべにうちへ帰った
Murai-san wa hirugohan o tabe ni uchi e kaetta

This video posted on youtube by Clay-san should give you a good idea of what is in the book.
Don't complain to me that people kick you when you're down. It's your own fault for lying there
chikara

Native language: English (Australian)

Postby ZetaFox » Tue 09.21.2010 10:59 am

ありがとございます、chikaraさん :dance:
ZetaFox