Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - No Romaji?

No Romaji?

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

No Romaji?

Postby Inkwings » Sat 03.25.2006 10:30 pm

I'm just beginning to learn Japanese, but there is something I would like to clear up before I get too confused.

I've been hearing some people who learn Japanese without using romanji, but I don't get how they can. Like, when you identify the characters, don't you have to connect them to a sound so you can say the word?

I'm really confused, so if anyone can help me out, I'd be really grateful! Thank you!

Edit: Ahh! I said "romaNji" Sorry, guys!
Last edited by Inkwings on Sun 03.26.2006 5:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Inkwings

RE: No Romanji?

Postby S-san » Sat 03.25.2006 10:35 pm

I don't know if this helps or is why people do that but, it might be because they really take to Hiragana and Katakana and use that instead. I won't suggest one way or another, you should find your own way of learning things that fits you.
愛  尊敬  刃  真保する  湯人  気  忠義な
                 心  
S-san

Postby crowfeather » Sat 03.25.2006 11:13 pm

I am just a beginner, but here is my experience.
I tried pronouncing the words using romanji and it was so confusing that I felt like giving up. When you look at a word like "Hajimemashite" in romanji where do you start to break it into syllables to say it?

Then I took the time to learn the hiragana and it made a world of difference. Each symbol represents a phonetic sound and the pronounciation of the words is so much easier.
は  じ め  ま  し  て
ha ji me ma shi te

In addition to that, there is a dictionary that uses little kana over the kanji ( the Chinese characters) so you know how to pronounce them.

If you just want to learn a few phases to go on vacation to Japan then the romanji will do, but if you really want to learn Japanese I think learning the kana and kanji are vital.