Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - I don't know where to start first...

I don't know where to start first...

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

I don't know where to start first...

Postby Tsuchinoko » Mon 06.26.2006 4:30 pm

For the last two days, I've been studying Hiragana, and writing down each symbol, practicing writing them (Not sure I'm doing that part right at all.) and memorising them.

But after I learn the handful of Hiragana, then what?

How am I supposed to evolve as a Japanese language learner? (I know there isn't any 'set way' to do things, but I like some organization when learning... And I am not good at organizing plans myself.)

Can someone direct me a bit, so I know how to begin and continue my lessons, and learning?

Thank you, in advance.

Oh, and before I forget... I was wondering, what does a normal, run of the mill Japanese sentence include? How is it built?
---
Beginning is easy - Continuing is hard. - Old Japanese Proverb
Tsuchinoko

RE: I don't know where to start first...

Postby Infidel » Mon 06.26.2006 4:33 pm

err, do you have a Japanese textbook? I wouldn't recommend learning piecemeal if it could be avoided.
なるほど。
さっぱりわからん。
Infidel

Native language: 英語

Postby paul_b » Mon 06.26.2006 4:46 pm

Textbooks, as said.

You don't have to buy them though - most of the Western world you'll be able to find them through libraries. Also some people work well with computer programs - there are free ones for vocabulary and kanji as well as non-free ones that cover pronunciation, grammar etc as well.
paul_b

Postby Deo » Tue 06.27.2006 4:23 am

Here's what I ended up doing: