japanese word processor

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?
Post Reply
User avatar
wren
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri 06.23.2006 3:59 am

japanese word processor

Post by wren » Tue 06.27.2006 4:22 pm

こんばんは みんなさま

たすけるか?

I have a japanese word processor I downloaded that I copy and paste from to get hiragana/kanji on the forum, but I can't seem to write in katakana. How do other people write in japanese script on the forum? I'm using JWPce if anyone knows it and knows how to make it write in katakana I would be eternally grateful (well very grateful anyway:P).

Thanks

Jen
Jen

please crit me - it's the only way I'll learn:P

User avatar
tyle7
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri 09.09.2005 5:37 pm

RE: japanese word processor

Post by tyle7 » Tue 06.27.2006 4:28 pm

When using the Jwpce, you use the 'caps lock' key to switch between hiragana and katakana.
Last edited by tyle7 on Tue 06.27.2006 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
paul_b
Posts: 3210
Joined: Thu 06.01.2006 9:35 am

RE: japanese word processor

Post by paul_b » Tue 06.27.2006 4:59 pm

wren wrote:
How do other people write in japanese script on the forum?
Windows XP users (unless they have "lost the CD"*) generally use Microsoft IME.

Linux / Unix / Mac users have their own equivalent.

Anyway see the FAQ

* are using a 海賊版

User avatar
AJBryant
Site Admin
Posts: 5313
Joined: Sun 10.09.2005 11:29 am
Native language: English
Gender: Male
Location: Indiana
Contact:

RE: japanese word processor

Post by AJBryant » Tue 06.27.2006 6:00 pm

I don't know about Linux, but with Mac it's the same thing. IIRC, my Japanese waapuro was the same. Caps give katakana.


Tony

User avatar
zengargoyle
Posts: 1200
Joined: Sun 05.29.2005 10:16 pm

RE: japanese word processor

Post by zengargoyle » Tue 06.27.2006 6:24 pm

well, Linux using SCIM+Anthy caps-lock doesn't seem to do anything. but i'm sure it's configurable. at the moment, i hit F6-F10 for hiragana, katakana, half-width katakana, double-wide roman, and plain roman. and the F9-F10 for roman will change case to all-lower, all-upper or initial-caps if you keep pressing it. there are options on the status bar thingy if you want to type in katakana or roman only.

User avatar
wren
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri 06.23.2006 3:59 am

RE: japanese word processor

Post by wren » Wed 06.28.2006 3:23 pm

ありがとう ございます!

I completely forgot about caps *stupid me*:)
Jen

please crit me - it's the only way I'll learn:P

CajunCoder
Posts: 408
Joined: Tue 09.27.2005 4:08 am
Contact:

RE: japanese word processor

Post by CajunCoder » Wed 06.28.2006 3:38 pm

I strongly suggest installing the japanese language pack.
http://newton.uor.edu/Departments&Progr ... index.html

[Edit] Ah, sorry. I guess paul beat me to it. Oh well, I'll just leave this up anyway.
Last edited by CajunCoder on Wed 06.28.2006 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply