Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Can I learn Japanese without taking a class?

Can I learn Japanese without taking a class?

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

Can I learn Japanese without taking a class?

Postby sdhaku » Wed 08.23.2006 12:41 am

My work schedule is so hectic I don't think I will be able to take a college course in Japanese but I would still really like to learn the language. From my research so far I've gathered tips like don't waste time on romaji, learn hiragana before katakana, learn a few kanji at a time while learning kana, etc.

There seem to be many good resources online about Japanese so I think I can do it but I wanted to pose the question here to see what kind of feedback I get. I am a total beginner...
sdhaku

RE: Can I learn Japanese without taking a class?

Postby Infidel » Wed 08.23.2006 1:02 am

With resources like this site all you need is a good textbook, motivation, discipline, and time, lots and lots of time.
なるほど。
さっぱりわからん。
Infidel

Native language: 英語

Postby magma » Wed 08.23.2006 1:28 am

Infidel summed the requirements up nicely:

TEXTBOOK
Look for textbooks with lots of audio and practice exercises. (Japanese textbooks are often skimpy on the exercises).

MOTIVATION
Make friends with Japanese people and see them on a regular basis. They will encourage you (both consciously and unconsciously) to persevere. Try to keep a firm handle on what attracted you to the language in the first place, and when it all feels overwhelming, take a break and remind yourself of why you're doing it. Listen to some Japanese music, watch an entertaining Japanese tv program/movie, read some interesting literature, etc. If you make studying too much of a chore, you won't want to do it, and studying anything, even entertainment material, is better than nothing.

DISCIPLINE