Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Handy flashcard program

Handy flashcard program

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

Handy flashcard program

Postby resolve » Sat 09.23.2006 6:11 am

Hi guys,

I've been in Japan for the last 2 1/2 years, and while I studied hard at first, my motivation gradually dropped. I never made any concerted effort to study vocabulary and ended up forgetting things more often than not. I tried to make vocabulary lists from time to time, but wasn't able to figure out how and when to review them.

Recently a friend up in Tokyo implemented the Supermemo algorithm in Emacs (http://supermemo.com/). This is great because the free Supermemo 98 doesn't support Japanese input (and is also a bit clunky to use).

The key point is that the program takes care of when and how often you should see words, by tracking your performance with them. If you keep getting a word correct, the time until you see it next will keep getting bigger, until you're eventually seeing the word once a year. Likewise with words you struggle with, the time will get shorter until you're able to remember.

I've found this has boosted my motivation to study a lot - instead of having to be responsible for reviewing things (which can seem like a lot of effort), you just review what the program tells you to. And it's nice to know that in the long term, 95% of the words will stick in your long-term memory.

A screenshot with an edict and examples lookup (big, so I won't inline it):

http://repose.cx/dump/fc+edict.png

I've added some code to tidy up the interface a bit, and packaged up a Win32 installer which includes Meadow (Emacs for windows). The win32 installer is at http://repose.ath.cx/flashcard-setup.exe