Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Recommend a book

Recommend a book

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

Recommend a book

Postby Djones5 » Sat 10.28.2006 1:52 pm

Hi, im a beginner at Japanese, I was wondering if anyone could recommend a book that I could work through. A perfect book would start off with hiragana and gradually introduce grammar, vocabulary ect. Im basically looking for a structured way to learn Japanese. Does anyone have know a book like this?
Thxs in advance,
Dan :D
Djones5

RE: Recommend a book

Postby richvh » Sat 10.28.2006 2:43 pm

I'd suggest looking [wiki=Selecting_a_Japanese_Textbook]here[/wiki].
Richard VanHouten
ゆきの物語
richvh

Postby Djones5 » Sat 10.28.2006 5:12 pm

Wicked thanks alot rich
Djones5

Postby Yudan Taiteki » Sat 11.04.2006 6:48 pm

That page doesn't mention anything by Jorden (i.e. <i>Japanese: the Spoken Language</i>); perhaps that's because the page is oriented towards self-study and JSL is not intended for self-study. If you are grammar-oriented it's worth picking up even as a supplement because the grammatical explanations are more complete and correct than any other textbook. However, if not used correctly, JSL is worse than something like Yokoso or Genki, so I don't recommend it unless you are taking a class that uses it.
-Chris Kern
Yudan Taiteki

Native language: English

Postby friendly_fire » Sat 11.04.2006 8:05 pm

I've been studying with Genki Book 1, and I'm just about to finish. I've really enjoyed studying with this book: though this may be due to a great tutor who knows the book really well, and even made some minor contributions to the text.

I've don't have and have never heard the audio CD, but I do use the workbook. The extra exercises really help to cement new grammar points.
friendly_fire

Postby kanadajin » Sat 11.04.2006 8:08 pm

Have to agree with Friendly_fire, The genki series are pretty amazing ;)