Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Canon G/V90 vs. G70

Canon G/V90 vs. G70

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

Canon G/V90 vs. G70

Postby ebidebi » Wed 11.15.2006 3:48 pm

I've been studying Japanese for about 5 years and have just graduated from college. I am nowhere near fluent, but I've done a little interpreting work and am currently trying to get into international business with a Japanese company in America. I'm continuing my Japanese study on my own, and plan to attend graduate school after a year or so of working.

I've had a Canon IDX-9700 for several years and just loved it, but it's pretty old and has become flaky, so I'd really like a new one.

I've been debating for a while now over which Canon WordTank to get, since I have been happy with Canon in the past. I REALLY like that the V90 has stylus kanji input, but I also would like to have the Kenkyusha dictionary of the G70.

So I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on the pros and cons of either, or if anyone has a recommendation from another brand. I've also looked at Seiko and Casio. I heard that Seiko's models have backlighting and the Kenkyusha dictionary that I want, but again, I really like the idea of stylus input.

Also, is there any difference between the Canon G90 and V90, other than that the V has MP3 sound for Chinese and English? The V90 is much more expensive, and I'd like to stay around USD 300-350 as far as price. The G70 is really, really expensive, if my understanding is correct...
Last edited by ebidebi on Wed 11.15.2006 3:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ebidebi

RE: Canon G/V90 vs. G70

Postby clay » Wed 11.15.2006 4:21 pm

>> Canon IDX-9700

Ah, なつかしい

If you are doing any translation work at all, I'd go for the G70 (or E10000). It is expensive, but the dictionaries installed are well worth it.