Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Newbie here, can anyone help me out?

Newbie here, can anyone help me out?

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

Newbie here, can anyone help me out?

Postby Kodama_30 » Wed 11.22.2006 7:00 pm

Hi people
Have just started learning the Japanese language recently, and came across this great site. Its been very helpful as you would imagine ;). I've bought the Teach yourself Beginner's Japanese language and script books and in conjunction with the site I feel I've got some of the basics down.

However the Japanese Script book only really covers gana and some Kanji which you can imagine isn't much help to me if I want to write a full sentence :|

Anyway this is where you helpful guys and gals come in, could you recommed me a good book/site/other that would help me in reading/writing Japanese. I want to focus more on the reading/writing aspect of the language. as I don't think I will have much opportunity to practise speaking in my normal everyday life.

I've also checked Tai Kim's guide already, before any one suggests it. It seems a bit long winded and complex for my very basic ability. I will refer to it later though once I get more advance.

Any sugestions are very much appreciated. Thanks for reading.
Kodama_30

RE: Newbie here, can anyone help me out?

Postby punkgrl326 » Wed 11.22.2006 7:03 pm

Tae Kim too advanced? That was the first grammar site I started with! Well, if it is too advanced you can check out TJP's Grammar Page :)
"Every act of conscious learning requires the willingness to suffer an injury to one's self-esteem. That is why young children, before they are aware of their own self-importance, learn so easily."

-Thomas Szasz
punkgrl326

Postby Kodama_30 » Wed 11.22.2006 7:22 pm

punkgrl326 wrote: