Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Tips On Remembering Words

Tips On Remembering Words

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

Tips On Remembering Words

Postby chobo2 » Fri 11.24.2006 6:51 pm

Hi

So I been studying with my friend for the last month(once a week 2hours lessons). In this time we got over from the textbook and stuff. So I just did a word count of my flash cards and I have 75 words I should know(plus last week material what I am still learning so that should be another 20+ words)

I am however having problems remembering some of these words. I did not know how write 14 out of the 75 I should know. These are just giving me such a hard time and it seems it does not matter what I do I can't get them to stick.

I write them like a hundred times out and I remember it then the next I don't do Japanese since I am all day in school then I come back the day after that and I can't remember the word anymore.

Usually when I learn a word I try to use it in every sentence I can like say if I am talking to my friend and instead of saying in english "do you understand?" I would go
わかりますか so I could start remembering them. But this does not even work because I can't keep them in my memory that long till I get a chance to use them.

So any tips on how I can get these words to stick?

here they are:

1. しずか にして ください // can't remember しずか にして(lots of my words in one week used ください so it stuck.
2.よく でけました
3. おおきい こえで いって ください
4. わすって ください
5. たって ください // I keep writting sit as stand and stand as sit.
6. いいおてんき です ねえ // forget the いい
7.わすれました // I forget, I forgot
8. みすを のんでも いいですか
9. といれ いっても いいですか // usually forget いっても 

these ones here I usually forget a character or add a character not needed

10. みて ください // usually add みすて
11.__ は にほんご で なんと いいません // usally foget the で  & ません
12. すみません しもんが ありません // forget the が worst case I forget ありません
13. どうぞ よろしく // forget the ど