Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Need help with finding a textook

Need help with finding a textook

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

Need help with finding a textook

Postby kevinnwhat » Thu 11.15.2007 5:32 pm

Hey everyone, im new here btw, and im glad to be here. Well im finally (got the money finally :D) going to buy a japanese text book. Im having trouble choosing one and what level i should buy. I have been studying for 4 months, I know basic grammar...I know how to use prepositions, i know verbs (base 1,2,3,4,5, te/ta form) and popular endings used with each (progressive tense, polite,negative,past, kureru,kudasai,nakereba narimasen etc..) I know how to use basic adjectives, and know how to conjugate them (adverbly) ex (Samukunarimashita ne?) Just plain stuff like that. Im not very good with adjectives though (need more work :P)I know all of hiragana/katakana very well now. And i know all of kanji JPLT lvl 4, and about 3/4 of lvl 3. I know their meanings, though i do not have all their readings memorized and all the possible combinations of words you can make for them :P Got alot more work to with them. And yeah basically i dont know what level of textbook i should get. Do you think if i get beginner lvl 1 their gonna teach me the same things i dont know? Im not really sure what i should look into, or even the series, although ive heard genki is good. Thank you for taking time to read this and any response is much appreciate!! Again thank you for your time.

Take care everyone,
Kevin
kevinnwhat

RE: Need help with finding a textook

Postby poppop » Thu 11.15.2007 5:40 pm

i guess most people here will say "Genki".. so i'll just say "Genki" :P
there's "Genki 2" too... but i don't think you know everything that is in "genki 1" (i haven't really looked through it)
i prefer this site over text books though: "www.guidetojapanese.org"
poppop