Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Beginners sentences

Beginners sentences

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?

Beginners sentences

Postby Orcrist » Mon 12.10.2007 10:59 am

Ever since I started studying I've been entering the sentences from every lesson I finished in my texbook into a srs. However I felt the need to verify wether or not I'm still on the right track.
I use it as following:
English question; I'll practice as long untill I give the exact Japanese answer that I have put into the srs.
Japanese question; I don't translate, I just identify the grammar and interpret the general meaning and check it with the translation and move on.
Sometimes I have a hard time coming up with the right Japanese answer, since my textbook doesn't always give a very accurate translation of the sentences.

I was also wondering how I could find more examples of sentences, my textbook is rather limited in providing exercises and I wouldn't mind practicing some grammar that was introduced by my textbook a little bit more.

Examples of the sentences I have added are:

おねえさんは何さいですか。
What age is (your) older sister?

お母さんはおいくつですか。
What age is (your) mother?

けいたいでんわは六階のでんかせいひんうりばにあります。
Mobile phones are in the electronic products counter on the sixth floor.

さらいねん中国にいきます。
I'm going to China the year after next.

すずきさんの会社へどうやって行きますか。
Suzuki-san, how do I get to your company?

もう少し安いのはありませんか。
Don't you have a slightly cheaper one?

よこはまへちゅうかりょうりを食べにいきましょうか。
Shall we go to eat Chinese food in Yokohama?

今田さん、ウォンさんと三人で会いませんか。
Imada-san, what say the two of us get together with Won-san?

明日、イギリスからショートさんが来ますから、くうこうへむかえに行ってください。
Tomorrow Short-san is coming from England, so please go to the airport to meet him.

If you see anything wrong with this please let me know so I can improve it.
Last edited by Orcrist on Mon 12.10.2007 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Orcrist

Native language: Dutch