Hello!

New members may introduce themselves in this forum
nia
Native language: English

Hello!

Post by nia » Tue 10.28.2014 9:38 pm

I'm Nia,

I'm a first year college student who is learning Japanese. I'm JUST starting. I knew a few things before and I own Genki I so that should be a start. I have a very ambitious goal in mind which may actually be impossible to do but I'm gonna try anyway. I want to go to Toudai. I need to learn enough Japanese to pass the JLPT N2 so I can understand the lectures. I have a long way to go but all of my friends are giving me support.

Obviously Genki I and II won't cut it for N2, can someone suggest me materials? Also I need to talk with people too, I do know someone but apparently his internet is down.

Hope to talk to you all :)

-Nia

Ongakuka

Re: Hello!

Post by Ongakuka » Tue 11.04.2014 7:51 pm

Hi Nia,

Great, you'll want to go through Genki quickly but thoroughly. The JLPT exam is as much about exam technique (i.e. time efficiency) as it is about Japanese, so practice papers are my biggest recommendation. With comprehension you need to search out the information relevant to the question. Other than that, memorizing a lot of words, kanji etc. is important too. Try to learn in context as much as possible because you will have a better understanding of the meaning and it will therefore stick in your memory better.

While you're studying with Genki, try to do language exchange with Japanese friends wherever possible, or listen to anime/songs/news (whatever you're interested in) because listening is also on the JLPT exam but more importantly good listening will be essential for your lectures at Toudai.

Good luck! Feel free to ask any other questions or practice Japanese here :)
なぜなら、おまえは・・・・・・人形だ

Shiroisan
Native language: Eigo

Post by Shiroisan » Wed 11.05.2014 5:54 am

Wait a minute :hand: