Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - hello?

hello?

New members may introduce themselves in this forum

hello?

Postby ookina-usagi » Thu 03.23.2006 1:10 pm

Hello, my name is Mike. I've been learning Japanese on my own for the last several months. I can read hiragana/katakana and recognize the meanings of some kanji but my vocabulary is rather small. Meaning, I may be saying the sounds but don't know what the words mean.

I've found this site to be a great help, it's one of the dozen or so nihongo sites I visit daily.

What brings me to the forum - I have a few questions. First, I wanted to choose a screen name that perhaps reflected a bit of myself. Does kyousagi mean large bunny? My wife sometimes calls me a big bunny and I thought it'd make a good name.

Also, one of the sites I frequent is http://www.kanjisite.com/index.html. I don't understand why a kanji character has so many meanings, or rather when to use which one. For instance:

ICHI / ITSU / hito / hito(tsu) - one

If I were reading some text and there was, and I don't know how to type Japanese here at work on winXP - at home it's easy on my iBook - sorry, back to it - there was a horizontal line (ichi) how would I know which of the above options to pronounce it as?

I have more questions but this is enough for now.

Thanks to you all,
kyousagi? (mike)
ookina-usagi

RE: hello?

Postby richvh » Thu 03.23.2006 1:25 pm

Context explains all.
The ICHI reading is used when 一 appears by itself, or as part of a larger number. ITSU is used when 一 is part of a compound, for instance 画一, kakuitsu, uniformity. hito- is used with a small number of counters, principally
一つ hitotsu, one thing
一人 hitori, one person
Then there's the oddball
一日 tsuitachi, first day of the month

As for your screen name, I think "ookii usagi" or "ookina usagi" would be better. Kyo is a noun, not an adjective.
Richard VanHouten
ゆきの物語
richvh

Postby ookina-usagi » Thu 03.23.2006 2:07 pm