Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - studing nihongo

studing nihongo

New members may introduce themselves in this forum

studing nihongo

Postby Kojin » Fri 04.14.2006 10:15 pm

Some time i study japanese for hours and it just dont stick
when i wake up the next morning cant remember anything

if any one have any tips you can give me for studing vocab and kanji i will be glad if you can, can you tell me how you study
Kojin

RE: studing nihongo

Postby nick-san » Fri 04.14.2006 10:40 pm

Kanji: Couldn't help you. NOT my strong point
Vocabulary: do a search on AOL.com for O genki desu ka. i found a great website with like 70 lessons that stuck on me really well
私の名前はニックです
nick-san

Postby kanadajin » Fri 04.14.2006 10:44 pm

studying for a long time isn't good.

Right now I'm studying Vocab. What I do is use the words I learn at random times, even if it doesnt make sense. for example i just learned "kochira koso" (same here) My friends would say something to me and I would just say kochira koso.. Also Sometimes I write down the world a few times in japanese and english for example..

wakari = understanding
kanadajin

Postby Tegan » Fri 04.14.2006 10:45 pm

Maybe you're studying too much at a time? Maybe just study 3 kanji a day, or pick out a list of vocab you want to work on and do a little each day making sure to review what you've done before.

Learning a language takes a long time, but if you take it piece by piece it will be simpler than if you try to tackle it as a whole.:)
Tegan

Postby Christian_ » Sat 04.15.2006 12:25 am

kanadajin wrote:
studying for a long time isn't good.
I can't stress that enough. Its good to study with no distractions, alone, silently in short intervals, I also have read its good to study before sleep.
Goals:
1) Have decent proficiency in Japanese, enough to get around/talk/read/write.
2) Visit Japan for a week or so one summer.
Christian_

Postby sarcastic_enigma » Sat 04.15.2006 12:43 am