Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Need Advice on Japanese Fairy Tales!!!

Need Advice on Japanese Fairy Tales!!!

Discussions on Japan's history or Japanese books!

Need Advice on Japanese Fairy Tales!!!

Postby Tuna12 » Wed 02.19.2014 7:57 pm

Hi everyone! I am absolutely new here and it is my first experience talking on forums. So i hope i am doing it right ;) and please excuse me for my typos. English is my second language, and I am just starting to learn Japanese.

Guys, I need your advice on Japanese fairy tales!

Right now I am working on the kid’s app called 'Fairy Tales Children Stories.' It is a growing audio collection of fairy tales from around the world, and i am looking for any unique, interesting and any popular fairy tales to include in my list.

Japanese culture always interested me personally, and if someone knows what fairy tales / myths / legends are popular in Japan, I will be very grateful.

I've read the book called 'Japanese Fairy Tales' by Yei Theodora Ozaki. It's pretty cool, and I took some stories from there, but I actually don't know if they are favorites in Japan.

So I will be grateful for any advice, suggestions, and guidance.

Thanks for stoping by at my post and wish you to have an awesome day!
Tuna12

Native language: Russian

Re: Need Advice on Japanese Fairy Tales!!!

Postby hariharidax2 » Thu 02.20.2014 1:56 pm

Hi! Tuna12,

These are very famous Japanese Fairy Tales,
Everybody knows.(Certainly)

Title, (Japanese Title)

THE TONGUE-CUT SPARROW (したきりすずめ)
THE STORY OF URASHIMA TARO, THE FISHER LAD (うらしまたろう)
THE ADVENTURES OF KINTARO, THE GOLDEN BOY (きんたろう)
THE BAMBOO-CUTTER AND THE MOON-CHILD (かぐやひめ)
THE STORY OF THE OLD MAN WHO MADE WITHERED TREES TO FLOWER (はなさかじいさん)
THE QUARREL OF THE MONKEY AND THE CRAB (さるかにがっせん)
MOMOTARO, OR THE STORY OF THE SON OF A PEACH (ももたろう)
HOW AN OLD MAN LOST HIS WEN (こぶとりじいさん)

:wave:
hariharidax2

Native language: japanese

Re: Need Advice on Japanese Fairy Tales!!!