Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Yahoo!Japan辞書質問

Yahoo!Japan辞書質問

Japanese, general discussion on the language

Yahoo!Japan辞書質問

Postby Takoyaki » Tue 05.27.2008 7:05 am

I am really new to the whole Japanese-Japanese world of dictionaries, so bear with me.

I couldn't find 悩める in any of my english-japanese dictionaries or Edict. It was from the phrase 悩める年頃. Since it wasn't being used as a potential form of 悩む in this case, I needed something more than that. I found the below defintion, (the second part), but I can't figure out the usage notes.

What is the little 文 in the box, and what are マ下一 and マ下二?

Yoroshiku onegaishimasu.
Takoyaki

Re: Yahoo!Japan辞書質問

Postby Yudan Taiteki » Tue 05.27.2008 7:42 am

The stuff before the definition tells you the source of the word and the conjugation.

動 means a verb. マ means a ma-gyou verb (that is, the root ends in a m-consonant syllable), and 下一 describes the type of conjugation -- this is usually called an ru-verb or an ichi-dan verb in English.

Next it shows you the classical form of the word (which is what 文 means here) -- なやむ, which was a ma-gyou 下二 verb (this type of verb does not exist in modern Japanese). Almost all verbs in the modern language that end in -eru developed from an underlying verb ending in -u.
-Chris Kern
Yudan Taiteki

Native language: English

Postby fielle » Tue 05.27.2008 8:54 am

I am a bit confused, Yudan, because 悩む is a currently-used verb, is it not? Or did the meaning change at some point in the past, and change from the transitive meaning of 苦しめる to the current meaning of something similar to 困る or 心配する?
fielle

Postby Yudan Taiteki » Tue 05.27.2008 9:33 am

fielle wrote:I am a bit confused, Yudan, because 悩む is a currently-used verb, is it not? Or did the meaning change at some point in the past, and change from the transitive meaning of 苦しめる to the current meaning of something similar to 困る or 心配する?