Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Nattou = Payment Beans?

Nattou = Payment Beans?

Japanese, general discussion on the language

Nattou = Payment Beans?

Postby CD_Vision » Sun 08.21.2005 6:48 pm

Ok so I was doing my daily Kanji practice and I decided I wanted to learn the kanji for "Nattou". The first character, "Na", seems to mean payment, or currency, while the second, "Tou", translated very simply to bean or small object.

Am I to translate this as "Payment beans"? Why are they called this, or is it just coincidence. Were fermented soybeans once used as currency?

Someone please explain..
CD_Vision
Author of CD_Vision\'s Arcade Controls
http://www.darkravenwind.com/cdvision/arcade.htm
CD_Vision

RE: Nattou = Payment Beans?

Postby battousai » Sun 08.21.2005 7:57 pm

I'm no expert on the etymology of natto, but if I recall right another meaning of the 納 kanji is to reap. Therefore, "cultivated beans" could be where it is derived from. But in the end, it would be just defined as fermented beans.. I'm guessing this is just your study method for kanji. I can't think of any off the top of my head but there are definitely some words with kanji that have nothing to do with their meaning. Actually, 料理 might be a good example, heh.
battousai

Postby Kates » Sun 08.21.2005 10:19 pm

The one I remember best is 服用する (ふくよう -- fukuyou suru) = to take medicine (orally). The first kanji means 'clothing' and the second 'use'... how the HECK does that end up meaning 'to take medicine'??

(I didn't know myself, so I checked on 納 and found it is the 'root' for 'osameru', which means to offer or dedicate (which, I suppose... 'payment' is a way to say that...) -- is nattou offered at any certain time by the Japanese?)
Kates

Postby kempokatt » Sun 08.21.2005 10:38 pm

納 is also the first Kanji in 納屋 naya (barn/outhouse) - which is what Nattou smells like...connection?