Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Why is sushi 寿司 instead of 酢米 or something?

Why is sushi 寿司 instead of 酢米 or something?

Japanese, general discussion on the language

Why is sushi 寿司 instead of 酢米 or something?

Postby o-bake » Mon 12.29.2008 5:48 am

The second would be so easy to remember :)
o-bake

Re: Why is sushi 寿司 instead of 酢米 or something?

Postby spin13 » Mon 12.29.2008 7:09 am

o-bake wrote:The second would be so easy to remember :)

I hate to break it to you, but Japanese wasn't created to make things easy for you to remember.
You're probably not as smart as you think.
Unskilled and Unaware
spin13

Native language: English

Postby o-bake » Mon 12.29.2008 3:51 pm

spin13 wrote:I hate to break it to you, but Japanese wasn't created to make things easy for you to remember.

Thanks. My comment was just a joke, but this is a serious question I'd like the answer to. Although I'm a beginner, the kanji for most nouns I've seen make at least some amount of sense. This doesn't, to me anyway, and the second set of kanji seems like an obvious way to write sushi (vinegared rice).

If there's a reason sushi is written the first way I'd be interested to know why from a historical standpoint. It doesn't really have much to do with remembering the kanji, really.
o-bake

Postby two_heads_talking » Mon 12.29.2008 4:09 pm

o-bake wrote:
spin13 wrote:I hate to break it to you, but Japanese wasn't created to make things easy for you to remember.

Thanks. My comment was just a joke, but this is a serious question I'd like the answer to. Although I'm a beginner, the kanji for most nouns I've seen make at least some amount of sense. This doesn't, to me anyway, and the second set of kanji seems like an obvious way to write sushi (vinegared rice).

If there's a reason sushi is written the first way I'd be interested to know why from a historical standpoint. It doesn't really have much to do with remembering the kanji, really.