Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Good teaching method?

Good teaching method?

Japanese, general discussion on the language

Good teaching method?

Postby aradu » Mon 10.03.2005 2:41 pm

I came to US 3 weeks ago and I started school 1 week ago, so I'm still quite new to everything here. I'm reading Japanese 101 with no previous experience, and I'm very excited to learn this language. However, when I first got to the class I was almost shocked. The teacher began to speak Japanese and she continued during the class. The last 10 minutes she began to speak in English and explained what we are going to do in the class. I'm not sure if this is the way languages are taught in America, but I remember back in Sweden, everything was explained in Swedish.

I have to say that it felt really weird during the first and second day, but now I can make sense of what she's talking about. She explains the words in Japanese and let us repeat. We've also done a few conversations.

One more thing which we are not allowed to do is writing in romaji. It's very hard before you know all Hiraganas. I suppose it's better to force yourself into learning Hiragana, without spending too much time with romaji.

So my question is; is this the way languages are taught in America or is it just this particular teacher? Does anyone else have any experience with this way of being taught, and is it good?
aradu

RE: Good teaching method?

Postby skrhgh3b » Mon 10.03.2005 4:28 pm

it's not necessarily the way foreign languages are taught in classrooms in america, but it is the best way, no question about it. you'll eventually get the hang of things as your listening skills improve, and that's the whole point, after all.
♪夢も見たくない 幸せなんか要らない
恋もしたくない お金なんか要らない
ぼくに必要な眠りを眠らせておくれ♪
skrhgh3b

Postby Harisenbon » Mon 10.03.2005 8:02 pm

I'm so jealous. I had english Japanese classes until I was out of college. Even though we never wrote in romaji, class was primarily in English.