Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Yokatta?

Yokatta?

Japanese, general discussion on the language

Yokatta?

Postby tanuki » Sat 03.11.2006 4:39 pm

Hello, all!

As I was watching anime, I noticed people often say "Yokatta!" and they translate it as "I'm so glad". The only "yokatta" I know is 良かった, so I found it weird that people say "It was good" to mean "I'm so glad".

So, what happens? Am I hearing wrong or is it just an expression? Or maybe another "yokatta" I don't know?

Thanks a lot in advance for your replies! Bye!
僕の下手な日本語を直してください。
tanuki

RE: Yokatta?

Postby Takeo Saeki » Sat 03.11.2006 5:08 pm

You seem to have a lot of questions about these anime situations. Why didn't you just make them on one thread? Then all of your questions could be answered at once and it would take less time and space.

Anyway, I can't help you, because i'm a beginner.
Takeo Saeki

Postby tanuki » Sat 03.11.2006 5:28 pm

Well, I don't know... I just think it could get too messy. I mean, if I make three questions in one, then one response would go to number one, the next one to number two, the next two to both, the next one to number three... It would be harder for me to follow.
僕の下手な日本語を直してください。
tanuki

Postby Takeo Saeki » Sat 03.11.2006 5:30 pm

Ah, I see. I can understand that.
Takeo Saeki

Postby Sachi » Sat 03.11.2006 7:06 pm

Hmm.... I'm not sure how "It was good." could mean "I'm so glad.". I can understand how it might vaguely mean "I was happy." or "(It was good so) I was happy." something, but that's the past positive. Not sure how the past positive could equal the present positive, or have a different meaning.

I'm guessing, different phrase, or some grammar point I haven't studied yet. :p
Sachi

Postby Jay3205 » Sat 03.11.2006 8:54 pm