Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Jobs in Japan for the "Gaijin"?

Jobs in Japan for the "Gaijin"?

Japanese, general discussion on the language

Jobs in Japan for the "Gaijin"?

Postby Nuro » Fri 03.16.2007 11:28 pm

I've been wanting to ask about this for a while.

I basically just want to know if I'll be able to get a job in Japan as a "gaijin" who knows Japanese. I guess I'm talking about non-JET stuff because anyone with a bachelor's degree can do that.

I'm studying the language from scratch at a University level and I'm loving it, so regardless of the responses I'm going to continue doing my best with it but I do wonder about what could be called racism towards foreigners... I understand this is a touchy topic for some people and I promise I am not trying to offend anyone with that comment.

I've always been interested in Japanese culture but the more I read about it the more I realise that people either seem to totally love the country, or they want to get the hell out as fast as possible.

It seems so strange to me that people could have experiences that contrast so harshly against each other like this.

Does anyone with experience here know? Am I going to be hated for being a foreigner or am I going to be welcomed... or will it be the same as here in Australia where nobody cares? :p
Last edited by Nuro on Fri 03.16.2007 11:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nuro

RE: Jobs in Japan for the "Gaijin"?

Postby Kagemaru » Sat 03.17.2007 12:07 am

Please help.

Will I be married with with kids?

Nuro wrote:
I've been wanting to ask about this for a while.

I basically just want to know if I'll be able to get a job in Japan as a "gaijin" who knows Japanese.

My crystal ball says V-A-G-U-E

What are you qualified for?
How long will you stay?
What is your Japanese Level?

How on Earth are we supposed to answer this seriously?