Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Informal or Formal with other students?

Informal or Formal with other students?

Japanese, general discussion on the language

Informal or Formal with other students?

Postby MFoogle » Sat 08.18.2007 9:54 am

In my Japanese class, we have a foreign exchange student from Japan, and I haven't gotten the chance to talk to her yet (I have been studying for about 2 years now and even though I'm in Japanese I this year, I want to try to at least be able to make a bit of small talk with her in Japanese). But I was wondering--do you use formal or informal words with students you don't really know yet? Should I use the plain form of verbs or the -masu stem, and things like that?
MFoogle

RE: Informal or Formal with other students?

Postby Yudan Taiteki » Sat 08.18.2007 11:10 am

This is not an easy question to answer. My personal recommendation would be to speak in whatever style you are most comfortable with.
-Chris Kern
Yudan Taiteki

Native language: English

Postby MFoogle » Sat 08.18.2007 11:37 am

so theres not really any right or wrong way to talk to her? She wouldn't be offended if I talked to her informally and she wouldn't feel a bit awkward if I talked to her formally?
MFoogle

Postby Dehitay » Sat 08.18.2007 12:12 pm

There's a game Japanese people like to play where they design their sentences to where you can't figure out if they're speaking formally or informally. Then they wait and figure out which way the other person will talk to them and follow suit. You can try that with her but chances are she'll start playing the same game, and since she speaks Japanese as a native tongue, you'll be at a disadvantage.
www.bananamonkeyninja.com
The only webcomic endorsed by Banana Monkey Ninja
Dehitay

Postby RpgN » Sat 08.18.2007 12:12 pm

As long as you don't use slang and shortcuts, I think it's oke to speak with her without the -imasu form.
So, do you think I can learn Japanese?
私は日本語を習うことができると思いますか?