Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - japanese ime confusing?

japanese ime confusing?

Japanese, general discussion on the language

japanese ime confusing?

Postby Pianogirl123 » Wed 09.12.2007 11:21 pm

yea, everytime i change it to JP on the language bar i have to additionally switch from "direct input" to Hiragana...

it's kind of annoying, is there any way to set the default mode to hiragana? (i use windows xp) or how do other people use their keyboard with japanese text?
User avatar
Pianogirl123
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri 05.13.2005 11:57 pm

RE: japanese ime confusing?

Postby saraLynne » Wed 09.12.2007 11:44 pm

Alt + ~(tilde) will swap between hiragana and direct input.

Some other shortcuts:

Alt + Shift Scrolls through languages (swaps back and forth if only 2 installed)
F7 Changes underlined hiragana into full-width katakana
F6 Changes underlined katakana into hiragana

There's lots of IME shortcuts, but these are pretty much the only ones I use.
Last edited by saraLynne on Wed 09.12.2007 11:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
saraLynne
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed 07.05.2006 3:02 am

RE: japanese ime confusing?

Postby Pianogirl123 » Wed 09.12.2007 11:52 pm

yaaay! keyboard shortcuts are awesome! thank you!
User avatar
Pianogirl123
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri 05.13.2005 11:57 pm

RE: japanese ime confusing?

Postby katafei » Thu 09.13.2007 12:34 am

Quote:
Pianogirl123 wrote:
yaaay! keyboard shortcuts are awesome! thank you!
Unquote
I was just wondering how to put that into words :D :D
We are all but images of our time
User avatar
katafei
 
Posts: 1766
Joined: Sun 07.09.2006 9:56 am
Location: A'veen
Native language: Dutch; Female

RE: japanese ime confusing?

Postby keatonatron » Thu 09.13.2007 5:23 am

A special trick I do is to delete the English input setting altogether. What you have now is:

English
Japanese (English input)
Japanese (Japanese input)

If you want to go from English to Japanese, you have to jump two times. I delete the normal English setting, so I have:

Japanese (English input)
Japanese (Japanese input)

No matter what I'm doing or what program I'm in, I only have to hit alt + ~ to change languages.

To do this, open up the settings box where you can install the Japanese input, highlight "English" and click remove.
User avatar
keatonatron
 
Posts: 4838
Joined: Sat 02.04.2006 3:31 am
Location: Tokyo (Via Seattle)
Native language: English
Gender: Male

RE: japanese ime confusing?

Postby biggu » Thu 09.13.2007 10:58 am

yeay, thanks for asking the question!

thanks for the suggestions!

life is easier!

thank you x1000
biggu
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue 09.04.2007 10:11 pm


Return to Japanese General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests