Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Any other languages?

Any other languages?

Japanese, general discussion on the language

Any other languages?

Postby yukamina » Sun 11.04.2007 4:50 pm

I'm curious; is any one here learning(or already learned) a another language other than Japanese? If so which one(s)?

I've made small attempts at different points to learn Spanish, Chinese, and Korean... but each time, I stopped to focus on Japanese alone. Japanese really is my favorite language <333

So what about you guys?
yukamina

RE: Any other languages?

Postby Yudan Taiteki » Sun 11.04.2007 4:57 pm

I am taking Chinese 101 this quarter; I have to take 2 years of Chinese for my PhD.
-Chris Kern
Yudan Taiteki

Native language: English

Postby queshaw » Sun 11.04.2007 5:52 pm

I am studying Thai also. But more Japanese than Thai. I have a Japanese class, and not a Thai class.

Actually, I was studying Thai before I started with Japanese. Some random people at http://how-to-learn-any-language.com/e/index.html think it's a good idea to learn more than one language at a time...

I have terrible study habits though, and frequent work crisis that make me abandon everything but work for weeks at a time, that make me unfocused studying just one language.

But, learning Thai and Japanese, I should be able to read the text on Pocky packages some day which will be great.

My impression is that Thai is generally a lot harder than Japanese, because of the materials available for learning (lots for Japanese that is well designed, little for Thai that is not well designed), and Thai speech seems a lot harder than Japanese for an English speaker.