Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Sentence ending in kanji?

Sentence ending in kanji?

Have a Question about some Grammar point? Share it with the world!

Sentence ending in kanji?

Postby JJ Gregarius » Tue 08.02.2005 10:53 pm

I'm a rank novice learner of Japanese, but I'd thought I would be fun to look at a Japanese web page concerning the video game Star Fox in [url="http://www.csse.monash.edu.au/〜jwb/cgi-bin/wwwjdic.cgi?9T"]WWWJDIC[/url] (change the %81` to a 〜 to make the link work. I'm having difficulty posting it on this board correctly.)

However, I discovered something new to me in the text, namely the sentence

「やとわれ遊撃隊」ことスターフォックスの4人は、コーネリア防衛隊のペパーの要請に応じ、母艦グレートフォックス号に乗って登場.

AFAIK, this sentence doesn't actually end in a verb, although the 登場 could be a verb with suru.
Is 登場 acting like a verb with the suru part implied?

In any event, this sentence is basically talking about the arrival of the Star Fox squad on their mother ship, with登場 being used as a motion verb with 乗って, correct?

---
EDIT:
Around 45 views and no replies: a bad sigh, ne?

Let me restate my question. Can a Japanese sentence end in a suru verb yet leave out the "suru" part?
Last edited by JJ Gregarius on Thu 08.04.2005 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JJ Gregarius

RE: Sentence ending in kanji?

Postby JJ Gregarius » Thu 08.04.2005 3:42 pm

Sorry about this. I thought the edit would bump my post up. If I didn't make this reply, I'm not sure anyone would realized I made some changes to my question. (If a tree falls in the middle of the woods and no-one hears it...)
JJ Gregarius

Postby Schattenjedi » Fri 08.05.2005 8:21 am

I think 登場 is a noun which is being described by コーネリア防衛隊のペパーの要請に応じ、母艦グレートフォックス号に乗って. Not entirely sure though. The sentence is out of my league. :)
Schattenjedi

Postby JJ Gregarius » Fri 08.05.2005 2:51 pm

Thanks for the reply, anyway.