Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - koto and -te iru

koto and -te iru

Have a Question about some Grammar point? Share it with the world!

koto and -te iru

Postby roomwithamoose » Thu 09.01.2005 10:49 pm

Hi everyone,

I've been studying Japanese on my own for the past three months and I'm currently really confused about the difference between koto and -te iru. In english, adding -ing can do two things, making the present participle which makes the verb an adjective or the present progressive when used with a form of the word to be meaning you are doing it right now, and it can also make a gerund which makes a verb a noun. Here are some examples, how would you translate them into japanese:

Present participle:
There is a talking horse.
There was a talking horse.

Gerund:
I am running.

I'm just confused on in which cases you would use koto or -te iru. For example which would be correct:

sushi o taberu koto suki desu.
sushi o tabete imasu suki desu.

Also, what does the -te form of iru do? Thank you for all the help, I apologize if this question is too complicated, all of you guys are such experts :D.
Last edited by roomwithamoose on Thu 09.01.2005 11:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
roomwithamoose

RE: koto and -te iru

Postby Harisenbon » Fri 09.02.2005 12:29 am

こと is used when you are making a noun phrase such as すしとたべることがすきです

ています is used for present actions はしています.

ている is the casual form of ています
Want to learn Japanese the right way? How about for free?
Ippatsu // Japanesetesting.com
Harisenbon

Native language: (poor) English

Postby redfoxer » Fri 09.02.2005 6:37 am

as harisenbon has said, the koto sentence is correct. remember as a rule of thumb that verbs tend to go at the end of sentences, hence hashite imasu, i am running, is correct.