Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - ヤ行、ダ行、パ行、ナ行 etc.

ヤ行、ダ行、パ行、ナ行 etc.

Have a Question about some Grammar point? Share it with the world!

ヤ行、ダ行、パ行、ナ行 etc.

Postby ryuubu » Mon 09.26.2005 8:46 pm

In Jim Breen's dictionary it refers to:

ヤ行 as Classification for Japanese verb with the dictionary form ending in "yu"

and so on.

Maybe I'm still a novice at this but I've never seen any verbs ending in any of these, nor learnt any conjugation rules for them. Is this just a hypothetical case? Or perhaps from Old Japanese?
B)
ryuubu

RE: ヤ行、ダ行、パ行、ナ行 etc.

Postby Kates » Mon 09.26.2005 9:00 pm

I'm not quite sure I understand your question at all... >_>

What does the ya-gyou (and the da- pa- (is that pa? or ba?) and na-gyou for that matter... in your title...?) have to do with YU-verbs...?

Are you asking if there ARE YU-verbs? Because if you are, then I'd have to say 'no there aren't'.... or maybe some really OLD Japanese verb... As far as I know there are only u, ku, ru, tsu, su, mu, and a single nu verb....

If that wasn't your question .... then, uh, try again.
Kates

Postby Gaijinian » Mon 09.26.2005 9:12 pm

ヤ行 as Classification for Japanese verb with the dictionary form ending in "yu"
How odd, that kana reads "ya," not yu...
I know of no YU ending verbs...:(
The harder they come, the harder they fall, one and all.
---
yawr.org
Gaijinian

Postby ryuubu » Mon 09.26.2005 9:53 pm

Yes it is odd. Just making sure I'm not missing anything here.
ryuubu

Postby zengargoyle » Mon 09.26.2005 10:06 pm

the CLASSICAL 01May00 V00-001 Classical Japanese-English Dictionary File Copyright Glenn Rosenthal - 2000 (from the EDICT site) has a few apparent yu/du/nu verbs, sorry no pu verbs...

老ゆ (おゆ) to age, to grow old (kamini); ;
消ゆ (きゆ) to go out, to vanish (kamini); ;
見ゆ (みゆ) to be seen, to be in sight, to look, to seem, to appear (shimoni); ;

出づ (いづ) to come out (shimoni); ;
愛づ (めづ) to love (shimoni); ;

往ぬ (いぬ) to disapear, to flee, to leave (nahen); ;