Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Total beginner questions

Total beginner questions

Have a Question about some Grammar point? Share it with the world!

Total beginner questions

Postby CroZ » Thu 11.10.2005 9:05 pm

Hi, I just started learning Japanese today, just as something to do in my spare time and I have a few questions.
1. What is Japanese writing (all of it together) called.
2. Are all of the letters made out of a,i,u,e,o (ie.ka, ki,ku,ke,ko) or are there any single letters eg. a T on its own. If so is there a site where I can learn the symbols?
3. How come I saw "Dublin" written in Jap but it had the Katakana symbol for "A" as its first letter?
4. Can you make other cominations beyond the usual Ka,Sa,Ta.etc.
5. When people say that Japanese letters are made from sound what do they mean?
6. Do Eng words translate directly into Jap eg. If I spelt play in Hiragana would it have the same meaning? And vis-versa.
7. Would Jap words in Eng letters look the same in japanese writing? Eg. Would Mae (Meaning Front) spelt with the Hiragana symbols for Ma and E be the right symbols or would it look different.
8. For a beginner how important is Kanji?

Sorry if i'm not making sense here. And I had more stuff than that to ask but that'll do for now, oh and dont fo getting ahead of me or anything, this is tough enough as it is.
Any helps appreciated :D
CroZ

RE: Total beginner questions

Postby InsanityRanch » Thu 11.10.2005 9:39 pm

Hi! I'll give your questions a try.

CroZ wrote:
1. What is Japanese writing (all of it together) called.

Depends what you mean. If you mean all the characters (kana and kanji), the word is moji. If you mean Japanese literature, the word is wabun. If you mean something else, let me know.

2. Are all of the letters made out of a,i,u,e,o (ie.ka, ki,ku,ke,ko) or are there any single letters eg. a T on its own. If so is there a site where I can learn the symbols?