Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Kanji/Hiragana Usage

Kanji/Hiragana Usage

Have a Question about some Grammar point? Share it with the world!

Kanji/Hiragana Usage

Postby alex_2096 » Sat 11.19.2005 3:33 pm

I've been studying japanese for a couple of months now, got basic conversation/ and grammer down and fairly proficient on the kana. So i started to learn the kanji, which im not finding to much trouble with.
But now im wondering whens the correct place to use the hiragana and kanji whilst writing. as nearly all vocab i have come across are written in kanji with hiragana links (e.g. は and の).
Is there times when u nead to write purely in hiragana, and is it just memorising which words use hiragana and kanji together to form words or just kanji.

Sorry, my confusion over this matter is making hard for me to actually explain what i want to know.
alex_2096

RE: Kanji/Hiragana Usage

Postby Kates » Sat 11.19.2005 4:41 pm

The "links" you mention are, I think, particles.
は: topic particle
が: subject particle; "but"
を: direct object marker; "from"; "through/along"
の: possessive marker; nominalizer
に: indirect object marker; "to"; "at"
で: "at"; "with"; cause/reason
へ: "to"
も: "also/too"
と: "and"; "with"; quotation marker
や: "and" (implies other things as well, which aren't mentioned)
か: question marker
から: "from"; "at"
まで: "until"; "to"

Those are the basic particles, most of which you probably know from studying for a couple of months. These words are always written in hiragana. I do not believe that there are kanji for these particles, and if there is, they are hardly ever ever used. (Maybe in classical Japanese texts...)