Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - sadistic grammar translations

sadistic grammar translations

Do you have a translation question?

sadistic grammar translations

Postby caroline » Sat 03.29.2008 8:59 am

I enclose hereafter some sentences, twisted indeed, who have no other goal than test some grammar points. So they may look strange, even in english.
The sure thing, they are far beyond my abilities... so I would appreciate any input showing me where I have gone wrong, hoping there are not so many mistakes that it will deter good will. I really did my best ( it says much about my inabilities :? )
Thanks in advance

1.田中さんは、楽しそうににわで遊んでいる子供を見た、大事なことを思い出しそうで着替えずに大急ぎで出かけた。

Mr Tanaka, who was, looking happy, watching the children play in the garden, went out in a hurry, without even changing his clothes as if he remembered something important.

2.去年の10月から日本語を習っているのは、今年の夏に学校の研修で日本に行くからでもあって、その後も学校を卒業したら日本に働くのために日本語を勉強しりたいもからです。

If I’m studying japanese since last october, it’s of course because I both will go to Japan the coming summer for the school internship and want to go on studying Japanese even after that in order to work in Japan when I graduate. (use である with the copula も)

3.私たち一人一人が地球温暖化のせいで危機的な状態ある地球を救うために何かをするけど、具体的にいったい何ができるか、どうすればいいですか?

We all know that it is each of us who can do something to save the earth which is in a state of crisis because of global warming, but in practical terms what should we do then or what can we do?

4.何でも言ったって田中さんが聞かないので、黙っていたの方がいいですよ。人間は同時に二つの事ができないと言われている。

It it better to keep silent, because Mr Tanaka won’t listen to you whatever you say (use たって). It is said that man can’t do two things at once.

5.払いさえすれば何でも女の心も手に入れる人が脱税で先日逮捕された。

The man who boasted that everything can be had, even the heart of women, as long as one pays for it, was arrested the other day for tax fraud. (using さえ)

6.戦前の日本人は降伏するくらいなら死んだほうがましだと言っていたが、今の若者は死ぬくらいなら、降伏したの方がましたと言えば。