Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Help, I don't get exactly what it means...

Help, I don't get exactly what it means...

Do you have a translation question?

Help, I don't get exactly what it means...

Postby KendoForLife » Tue 02.03.2009 8:04 am

I'm sorry if this is too low-level for this section, but I'm just starting to "read" my first manga in japanese and I'm already having trouble with the first couple of panels.

I'm studying once a week with a teacher and we use the JfBP books, but we're not even half-way through book 1 so my level is quite low. However I'm trying to push myself to get better on my own by reading stuff I like (bamboo blade :D) because the references to Kendo (which is my life) help me stay motivated and also remember a lot of things.

Here is the part I can't properly translate:

この言葉が始まりだった

(it's the very first narrative box in the manga ^_^;)

I know この kono is "this". Since I'm new to any kanji I looked up 言葉 kotoba and it tells me "language/speech" but I'm wondering if maybe it's referring to "story"in this case? 始 is the kanji that hajime starts with so I know it means "begin", or "start". However I don't know the ending (if it even is an ending?) ~ まりだった (hajimaridatta?) the ~ta in the end, does that mean it's in past tense? (I'm asking cause we just learned adjectives in past tense with the "katta" in the end ^_^; )

In my mind it says "The story begins..." or something along those lines, but I want to understand the grammar, you know, what it says literally. Once I know whatever conjugation is happenening there I will look it up and practice it. That's how I learn the best, by reading and understanding. ^_^