Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Names??

Names??

Do you have a translation question?

Names??

Postby lindsey » Mon 02.23.2009 9:54 pm

Alright so I'm still new to the Japanese language and have a few questions about foreign names. My first name for exaple, is spelled the same as my member name (so just Lindsey) and I've always been wondering how to even write that in Japanese. Do I change my name around, or do I just write it in romanji? Also just a thought, will the Japanese locals be able to pronounce it?

I really don't know much about the topic, so if someone could clear that up for me it would be awesome. :)

Arigatou!
lindsey

Re: Names??

Postby becki_kanou » Mon 02.23.2009 9:57 pm

Most people just opt for the katakana which best approximates their name. Lindsey would be リンジー.

As to people being able to pronounce it, most Japanese will not be able to pronounce Lindsey but they'll have no trouble with リンジー. Don't feel too bad though, everyone gets their name butchered when they go to a foreign country.

Just a small note; it's romaji or sometimes roumaji but never romaNji. :D
そうだ、嬉しいんだ、生きる喜び!
例え胸の傷が痛んでも。
becki_kanou

Skype chat: yes_becki
Native language: U.S. English, 米語

Postby keatonatron » Tue 02.24.2009 4:26 am

becki_kanou wrote:but never romaNji. :D

It is when you're an old-timer saying ローマの字 :lol:
keatonatron

Native language: English

Postby two_heads_talking » Tue 02.24.2009 9:12 am

keatonatron wrote:
becki_kanou wrote:but never romaNji. :D

It is when you're an old-timer saying ローマの字 :lol:

Since when is ro-ma no ji the same as romanji? I suppose if you doing the standard no becomes n (similar to no desu becoming n desu..

:mrgreen: :twisted: :mrgreen:
two_heads_talking

Postby keatonatron » Tue 02.24.2009 9:45 am

two_heads_talking wrote:Since when is ro-ma no ji the same as romanji?

Since when is 僕のうち the same as 僕んち? Oh wait, all the time :D
keatonatron

Postby two_heads_talking » Tue 02.24.2009 11:29 am