Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - Trying to translate/play Pokemon Blue

Trying to translate/play Pokemon Blue

Do you have a translation question?

Trying to translate/play Pokemon Blue

Postby Jakarta » Thu 06.11.2009 3:27 am

Hello everyone,

I start college soon where I will be studying Japanese, but I wanted to get a head start over the summer. I've had some prior experience, so I know the difficulty of translating a game, but I figured if nothing else, it will be a nice respite from book study. So, here goes nothing:

Sentence: ブルーはファミコンをしてる。

ブルー : Character's name "Blue"
は : topic maker
ファミコン : Family Computer aka Nintendo
を : direct object maker
してる : I'm not sure.

I think してる is a conjugation of the verb する, but I can't figure out how. The closest I get is して, the gerund form. Why the る? I can't find the full word してる in a dictionary, so I'm assuming it's a conjugation of something.

I've translated the sentence as "Blue (plays?) the Family Computer."

Thank you very much.
Jakarta

Native language: English

Re: Trying to translate/play Pokemon Blue

Postby Yudan Taiteki » Thu 06.11.2009 3:36 am

してる is a contraction of している. You are right that this is related to する; look for ~ている in a grammar guide.
-Chris Kern
Yudan Taiteki

Postby Jakarta » Thu 06.11.2009 4:30 am

Yudan Taiteki wrote:してる is a contraction of している. You are right that this is related to する; look for ~ている in a grammar guide.

Thank you. That makes a lot more sense now. I didn't think to look for a contraction; that is tricky.

So the sentence translates as "Blue is playing the Famicom." Correct?

The ~ている meaning the action is ongoing, habitual, or has already taken place. It could also translate to "Blue plays the Famicom regularly" or "Blue played the Famicom." "Playing" or "played" makes more sense in the situation though.
Jakarta

Postby NocturnalOcean » Thu 06.11.2009 7:27 am

Jakarta wrote: