Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

View topic - JLPT1 in December, Possibility or no? What's needed to study

JLPT1 in December, Possibility or no? What's needed to study

The test - experiences, questions or comments

JLPT1 in December, Possibility or no? What's needed to study

Postby Yusaba » Sun 08.24.2008 11:38 am

So I'm studying JLPT2級文法 right now, but I want to take the JLPT1 in December. That gives me a little over three months I guess to get up to that level. I can and understand quite a fair bit of Japanese, which is why I'm just focusing on grammar. I don't think kanji will be a problem since I've finished RTK and don't need to look up 80-85% of what I read. What is an honest assessment of the possibility of doing this? Since I have to register by September, I realize it's hard to say what kind of progress I'll make in the next couple of months, but since I want to go back and work in Japan, I think if it's not 1級 it's not worth it in my case.

As far as studying for it,

I have the grammar books, but I don't have the reading&comprehension/listening/vocabulary books. How important are these to get and study from? If it is necessary, should I get JLPT1 and 2 books and practice both?
Yusaba

Re: JLPT1 in December, Possibility or no? What's needed to study

Postby kfmfe04 » Mon 08.25.2008 12:38 am

The answer is easy: go to a bookstore, buy a book of previous tests and try it out (takes 2.5-3hrs). This will tell you much more than people trying to guess your ability level. From my experience, RTK is just the beginning - compounds may or may not have the meanings you might expect. As a rule, I always look up compounds at least once to make sure my "guessed meaning" is appropriate (you will be periodically surprised). For reading comprehension, missing 15-20% could kill you - especially if the problems involve grammar.