Quiz error

Spotted any errors or found anything that doesn't work?
Post Reply
DRain
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 10.05.2009 7:02 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Quiz error

Post by DRain » Tue 10.06.2009 8:16 am

Not sure how many have noticed but in the game for beginners where it shows you the hirigana and you have to type in the romaji for it and it tells you if it is correct or not, it keeps telling me that the hirigana for ら is ri even though I know it is not. It also happened with another hirigana character but I can't remember which one.

User avatar
phreadom
Site Admin
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sun 01.29.2006 8:43 pm
Native language: U.S. English (米語)
Gender: Male
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Quiz error

Post by phreadom » Tue 10.06.2009 12:59 pm

DRain wrote:Not sure how many have noticed but in the game for beginners where it shows you the hirigana and you have to type in the romaji for it and it tells you if it is correct or not, it keeps telling me that the hirigana for ら is ri even though I know it is not. It also happened with another hirigana character but I can't remember which one.
I'll check it out. Thanks for the heads up.

Could you give me the link to the exact page you're talking about?
猿も木から落ちる

User avatar
astaroth
Posts: 823
Joined: Mon 12.22.2008 5:08 am
Native language: Italiano「伊語」
Location: Amherst, MA
Contact:

Re: Quiz error

Post by astaroth » Tue 10.06.2009 1:57 pm

Sorry, DRain, I don't want to sound rude but are you sure your keyboard layout is not messed up? You kept on typing hirigana instead of hiragana ...
ー 流光 ー

   花地世
小  見獄の
林  かの中
一  な上は
茶   の 

DRain
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 10.05.2009 7:02 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Quiz error

Post by DRain » Tue 10.06.2009 11:52 pm

astaroth wrote:Sorry, DRain, I don't want to sound rude but are you sure your keyboard layout is not messed up? You kept on typing hirigana instead of hiragana ...
I am sorry but it's not my keyboard, I simply spelled it wrong :? My pc is vista and fully up to date.

To phreadom: Here is the link http://thejapanesepage.com/node/hiraganaquiz.htm
I wish I had of taken a screen cap at the time

User avatar
chikara
Posts: 3577
Joined: Tue 07.11.2006 10:48 pm
Native language: English (Australian)
Gender: Male
Location: Australia (SA)
Contact:

Re: Quiz error

Post by chikara » Wed 10.07.2009 12:26 am

ら ra works for me.
ra.jpg
ra.jpg (7.83 KiB) Viewed 5913 times
Maybe phreadom-san has fixed it.
Don't complain to me that people kick you when you're down. It's your own fault for lying there

Sairana
Posts: 709
Joined: Wed 02.27.2008 11:54 pm
Native language: (US) English
Gender: Female

Re: Quiz error

Post by Sairana » Wed 10.07.2009 12:33 am

It accepted 'ra' when I went through it, too.

User avatar
phreadom
Site Admin
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sun 01.29.2006 8:43 pm
Native language: U.S. English (米語)
Gender: Male
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Quiz error

Post by phreadom » Wed 10.07.2009 7:28 pm

I just went through it and it worked fine here as well.

Actually even looking at the code (which was borrowed from a German language quiz, as credited at the bottom of the page...)

Code: Select all

ENGLISH[42] = 'ら ';
GERMAN[42] = 'ra';

ENGLISH[43] = 'り ';
GERMAN[43] = 'ri';
The code itself is correct. And it works for others. If you're having trouble, perhaps it's some bug specific to your system?

Are you using Internet Explorer? Maybe I'll try going through the test with that and see if I have any trouble...

I'm using Firefox here normally.

(I wasn't even aware that hiragana quiz was being used currently. :P Some parts of the old site were moved over to the new site, but are so out of date (long before my time) and broken that they are no longer linked from the rest of the site. (Like the old main kanji section etc))
猿も木から落ちる

User avatar
chikara
Posts: 3577
Joined: Tue 07.11.2006 10:48 pm
Native language: English (Australian)
Gender: Male
Location: Australia (SA)
Contact:

Re: Quiz error

Post by chikara » Wed 10.07.2009 8:01 pm

phreadom wrote:Are you using Internet Explorer? Maybe I'll try going through the test with that and see if I have any trouble...

I'm using Firefox here normally.
.......
The screen grab I posted above was using IE 8.
Don't complain to me that people kick you when you're down. It's your own fault for lying there

Post Reply